Cloud based tools (not only for testers)

Posted: 5.12.2010 in Tools
Tags: , ,

I have started to use cloud based tools to make my life easier. Here’s short list of tools I’m using and how I am using them. There’s most likely plenty of other tools which I could use, but these I use regularly. Do you have any cool tools to share?

Evernote is notebook cloud. It can be used with web browser and desktop application. When using web application, it is very easy store screen shots to there. I love that kind of feature. I have used it for article writing as well as for some blog texts. I can access to it even with my mobile phone. I haven’t done any security testing. You can use desktop application even so that you don’t sync your texts to server. It is also working very well without Internet access.

Yammer is for companies. It is much like Facebook with a lot less features. I have quite good trust to it because I’ve found only a few XSS-bugs. It is totally with https-protocol so it is not vulnerable for BlackSheep. We are using it a lot for internal information sharing of things which are not under strict NDA. It can be used even for free which is nice.

MindMeister is excellent browser based mindmap tool. You can share your mindmaps with others very easily. The access can be restricted to specified MindMeister users or put it to global use and protect it with password. I have really enjoyed it.

Google Docs is wonderful word processor. There is also other tools but I’m using it mostly with text. The best feature is possibility to collaborate. I can edit same text document with other people. I’ve fallen in love to that feature! I had wonderful time write one short story at it with my friend. I was ‘lead writer’ and she were correcting and adding some text. It was very well working. There wasn’t need to mail and have some old version.

Comments
  1. Last time I used MindMeister pairing with Lisa Crispin on a weeknight testing session, I found you could do an XSS attack, which would execute upon the user hovering over your shared text.

    Hopefully that’s fixed now, but for a collaborative tool, that was pretty silly.

    • Teemu Vesala says:

      XSS is quite nasty to find at all AJAX-applications. There is just too many ways to attack. And scanners are not performing very well because AJAX brings so much Javascript and dynamical functionality.

      Simplicity – that’s what we’d need. But we can’t have because we want complex applications with collaboration.

Leave a Reply

