Google is your friend

Posted: 28.7.2011 in Ei kategoriaa
Tags: ,

Every now and then (actually more than just every now and then) I find the word which I don’t have any idea. That can be e.g. “threat modeling”, “virtual user”, “xpath” and so on. I have to find quickly, what is behind that and should I really know it. I have multiple options how to proceed.

  • Ask from the forum like this
  • Ask at IRC
  • Ask at Twitter
  • Ask at Google+
  • Do the search at Google

 

If I’m using first four bullets, I have several assumptions. First is that someone else knows about subject. Secondly I’m expecting that “somebody” to be online and he have some free time. While waiting those conditions to become true I’m still clueless about the topic. And usually I have to get at least basic information about it quickly. I don’t want to waste my time and my client’s money for waiting. And even if I got answer, I never can be sure if that is correct answer. The one who answers might be as clueless as I am, but he doesn’t realize that. So situation is lose-lose situation. I might get wrong information. Or it’s possible that I won’t get any information at all. Not even wrong one. My work is blocked until I get the information. And someone else must waste his time to explain me the basics.

I’ve found that Google is much better option. If I write keywords to search field, add additional word “Tutorial”, I usually get some basic information about the subject I need. I also might get good references for further reading. This Monday I really had to find quickly information about threat modeling. First there was Wikipedia article, then article at OWASP-site. Those gave me good overview to subject. But it wasn’t enough. Third link was to Microsoft site and there they advertised book about threat modeling. Great! That’s what I needed. There was direct link to O’Reilly site, and possibility to buy eBook. I bought eBook, downloaded it, uploaded to my eBook reader, and now I’ve read more detailed information about threat modeling. I didn’t have to wait for days (or not even hours). I got quick overview and after that knew I had to know more.

Summary: Google doesn’t force you to wait. Usually you find at least the basics of subject you’re looking for. If after that you have questions (e.g. how to implement threat modeling to your environment), then forum is good place to open discussion about that. It won’t give you the step-by-step instructions, but it can give you some ideas how others has used same tool at their project.

Comments
  1. SheyMouse says:

    Google is a good source of information and can help you get up to speed on a subject quickly.

    One other thing I find helpful, is placing the keyword “define” in front of the word/phase I am looking for. That will usually lead me to similar sites that you find, but also an official dictionary (be it wiki, or otherwise) definition of my search term.

    Secondary tip, if the search term is more than one word, place quotation marks around it. That forces google to search for the whole term, not just anything with those words in.

Leave a Reply

